There are different types of stroke.  Symptoms may vary depending on which part of the brain is affected.

There are a variety of Tests and Assessments available for Stroke Patients

NIH Stroke Scale

The National Institute of Health Stroke Scale is a systematic assessment tool designed to measure the neurologic deficits most often seen with acute stroke patients.

It can be used in all areas of the hospital as a standardized measure of neurological function and stroke severity.

The scale includes measures of level of consciousness, sensory and motor weakness and visual problems.

The information obtained will be used by other members of the healthcare team to direct treatment and measure improvement.

The exam is usually performed by a Registered Nurse and will take about 10 minutes to complete.

 CT Scan of the Brain (Computed Tomography)  MRI of the Brain
(magnetic Resonance Imaging)
Carotid Duplex Ultrasonography

A CT Scan or CAT Scan is a key imaging test of the brain. It uses radiation to create a picture of the brain. It is usually one of the first tests given to a patient with stroke symptoms. CT test results give valuable information about the cause of stroke and the location and extent of brain injury.

An MRI is a detailed magnetic scan to produce an image of the brain. Like the CT, it shows the location and extent of brain injury. The image produced by MRI is sharper and more detailed than a CT Scan, so it is used to diagnose small, deep injuries. 

Carotid duplex ultrasound is an imaging procedure that uses high-frequency sound waves to view the carotid arteries and to determine the presence of narrowing.

Dysphagia Screen Modified Barium Swallow   CT Angiography

During the bedside swallow evaluation, the Speech Language Pathologist (SLP) will test your swallowing ability with a variety of foods and liquids to determine the presence of a swallowing disorder. You will be observed closely for signs and symptoms of difficulty. If problems are noted, the SLP may recommend further testing via swallow X-ray (Modified Barium Swallow Study).

The Modified Barium Swallow (MBS) is a diagnostic test done in the X-ray department, conducted by the Speech Language Pathologist (SLP) and the Radiologist. During the MBS, you will be given different textures of food and thicknesses of liquid combined with contrast. A real-time image of your swallow will be evaluated to determine the presence of a swallowing disorder. The SLP will recommend the safest type of diet based on this test.

Angiography is a medical procedure, otherwise called arteriography. In this test, special substances are injected into blood vessels and an X-ray is taken. 

Angiography gives a picture of blood flow through the vessels. This allows the size and location of the blockage to be evaluated. This test is especially valuable in diagnosing aneurysms and malformed blood vessels and is valuable information before surgery.


A magnetic resonance angiogram (MRA) uses a magnetic field and pulses of radio wave energy to provide pictures of blood vessels inside the body. MRA can find problems with the blood vessels that may be causing reduced blood flow. With MRA, both the blood flow and the condition of the blood vessel walls can be seen.