Spiritual & Pastoral Care Home Advance
Center for Cultural Diversity Supervised Ministry
Experience Program
Volunteer Chaplain Association Spiritual Advisory Group

Appalachian Region

The Appalachian Regional Commission, set up in 1965 to meet the socio-economic needs of the region, describes the region as follows. “The Appalachian Region includes all of West Virginia and parts of Alabama, Georgia, Kentucky, Maryland, Mississippi, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia. The Region is home to more than 25 million people and covers 420 counties and almost 205,000 square miles (Appalachian Regional Commission, 2013).”
 The Appalachia Region as so defined is an immense region of our country.  Some scholars limit their discussion to what Loyal Jones calls the “The Southern Uplands” of the Appalachian Region (Jones, 1999).  The Southern Uplands focus is on the foothills and mountains of West Virginia, Kentucky, Southwest Virginia, East Tennessee and Western North Carolina.  Other scholars identify the same region as “Central Appalachia” (Crissman, 1994) or the “Highlands” (Campbell, 1969, 1969/1921)


Appalachian Regional Commission.  (2013). Home Page Definition, Retrieved June 3,   2013 from: http://wwe.arc.gov.
Campbell, J.C. (1969/1921). The southern highlander & his homeland.  Lexington:  the  University of Kentucky Press, (1969 edition).
Crissman, J.K. (1994). Death and dying in central Appalachia:  Changing attitudes and  practices.  Chicago:  University of Illinois Press.
Jones, L. (1999).  Faith and meaning in the southern uplands. Chicago:  University of   Illinois Press.
McCauley, D.V. (1995).  Appalachian mountain religion:  a history.  Chicago:  University of Illinois Press.